Росен Желязков

Rosen Zhelyazkov

Chairman of the XLIX National Assembly

Rosen Dimitrov Zhelyazkov is a Bulgarian lawyer, Minister of Transport, Information Technologies and Communications from September 20, 2018 to May 12, 2021, Deputy Speaker of the XLVIII National Assembly, Chairman of the XLIX National Assembly.

He was born on April 5, 1968 in Sofia. He graduated with a master’s degree in law from Sofia University.

In 1994, he started working as a legal consultant in the “Sredets” district of Sofia Municipality, where he was successively a senior legal consultant, secretary and deputy mayor.

Since 1995, he has been a lawyer in civil and commercial law.

Between 1998 and 1999, he was deputy mayor for “Law and control” of the Lozenets district, Sofia Municipality.

In the period 2003-2009, he was the secretary of the Metropolitan Municipality.

From 2011 to 2013, he was the chairman of the Management Board of the Institute of Public Administration and the representative of the Republic of Bulgaria at the European Institute of Public Administration (EIPA) in Maastricht, Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Between 2009 and 2013 he was the chief secretary of the Council of Ministers.

From 2014 to 2016, advisor to the Prime Minister on matters of state administration and e-government.

Leads and participates in the processes of developing a number of conceptual and strategic documents and programs in the fields of e-government, local self-government and local administration, public-private partnership. Represents the Bulgarian side in the annual meetings of the Open Government Partnership initiative (2011, 2015). Coordinates the Bulgarian contribution to initiatives related to European policies on the implementation of the European Program for Global Monitoring of Environment and Security.

Participates in strategic planning and policy development in the field of public administration and e-governance.

From September 30, 2016, by Decision of the Council of Ministers, he was appointed as the chairman of the State Agency “Electronic Government”.

By Decision of the Council of Ministers of December 20, 2017, he was appointed as the Chairman of the Communications Regulation Commission, and the decision came into force on January 15, 2018.

Elected by the National Assembly as Minister of Transport, Information Technologies and Communications on September 20, 2018 with a mandate until April 2021.

On April 19, 2023, he was elected chairman of the XLIX National Assembly. He was elected with 136 votes in favor (GERB-SDS, PP-DB and ITN) against 0 votes against and 94 abstentions (“Vazrazhdane”, DPS and BSP).